New Science Fiction Short Story Collection Takes Readers on “Fantastic Voyages”

MILTON, ONTARIO, May 13, 2022 – The first collection of short stories by longtime science fiction author Arlene F. Marks has released today.

Imaginary Friends contains eleven stories of wonder, humour, and horror ranging from urban fantasy to superhero to space opera. Some stories build off the novels Marks has written while others were written in response to certain prompts or even from a headache.

The collection has been praised by critics, with Booklist calling it, “vast and amazing” and saying, “there is something for everyone who appreciates sf, dark humor, or captivating characters.” Amazing Stories Magazine says, “Arlene has the knack of writing intelligent and original stories full of surprises and psychologically realistic characters” while science fiction author Hugh A. D. Spencer says these stories, “make even the most jaded of SF reader [think] they are back reading that first paperback full of really great stories!”

A virtual launch party will be held live Saturday, May 14th at 6:00 p.m. EDT on Twitch. Catherine Fitzsimmons, owner of publisher Brain Lag, will be hosting an interview with the author and Marks will share readings and a Q&A with the chat. Several prize giveaways are also planned. The event is free to attend and pre-registration is not required.

Imaginary Friends is now available to order in bookstores everywhere in trade paperback (236 pages, $21.99 CAD) and ebook ($4.99) formats, including Chapters/Indigo, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Apple iBooks.

Marks has written over a dozen books in various genres, including her six-book Sic Transit Terra space opera series. After a career ranging from teacher to fashion consultant, Marks retired to the shores of Nottawasaga Bay, Ontario and now spends her days writing.

Imaginary Friends follows up her first release from Milton, Ontario-based science fiction and fantasy publisher Brain Lag, November 2021’s Adventures in Godhood. Brain Lag already has several more books from Marks to be released over the next two years.

Media inquiries and requests to contact the author may be directed to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s