Preorders and Cover Art Now Available for Upcoming Multi-Genre Short Story Collection

MILTON, ONTARIO, January 21, 2022 – Brain Lag, publisher of speculative fiction books, has revealed the cover art for its second short story collection releasing in 2022, Imaginary Friends by Arlene F. Marks.

The cover art features an illustration by Shanghai-based artist CDD20, showing a man walking through falling snow against a blue backdrop. He looks at a trail of footprints through the snow which stop beside his own, with no visible figure creating them.

In addition to revealing the cover art, Brain Lag has also opened the book for preorders directly through its website, with online retailers such as Amazon and Chapters/Indigo soon to follow.

Imaginary Friends

Extraterrestrial colonies with otherworldly secrets. A science-themed art installation about to go nova. A computer shop with a truly hellish customer. These tales show a deeply personal side to the fantastic worlds they imagine, whether it's the struggle of a troubled teen roped into an ages-old battle between light and dark or the loneliness of a grieving rabbi in outer space.

Arlene F. Marks, multi-genre novelist published for more than thirty years, shares stories of wonder, beauty, and terror in this collection. Get ready, it's time to go on a magical ride and meet some extraordinary friends... and foes.

The book contains eleven stories by Marks, collected for the first time in print after some have been previously published in various magazines and anthologies. The stories range from space opera to time travel to urban fantasy and horror. The collection features all-new novella “Manua’s Children”, a tale of a farm girl living on Earth’s first exoplanetary colony, where the colonists are undergoing rapid changes and developing strange powers, and the ruling Consortium holds secrets it will kill to maintain.

Another new story in the book is “Candles”, which tells a story of a character from Marks’ Sic Transit Terra six-book science fiction series. Imaginary Friends also includes introductions to each of the stories by the author, explaining the inspiration behind each and giving insight into Marks’ writing process.

Imaginary Friends is releasing Friday, May 13th, 2022. A virtual launch party will be held on Twitch on Saturday, May 14th at 6:00 p.m. EDT, featuring an interview with the author, readings, and a Q&A with the Twitch chat. The event is free and open to the public with no registration required.

The Author

In addition to the Sic Transit Terra books, Marks is the author of Adventures in Godhood, released by Brain Lag in November 2021, as well as several books on writing. Retired from a career in teaching and various other professions, Marks now lives with her husband on the shore of Nottawasaga Bay in Ontario.


Imaginary Friends will be available in trade paperback (236 pages, ISBN 978-1-928011-71-2, $21.99 CAD) and ebook (ISBN 978-1-928011-72-9, $4.99 CAD) formats. This is Brain Lag’s 34th release and fifth new book in 2022.

Media inquiries and requests to contact the author can be directed to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s