Science Fiction Trilogy About Aliens Appearing As Figures From the Bible Comes to a Conclusion

MILTON, ONTARIO, January 14, 2022 – In 2019, Indianapolis, IN-based author Dale E. McClenning started his Awakening Earth trilogy with the publication of Innocent Earth. The following year, the second book, Divided Earth, released, and today, the final installment, Rebel Earth, is available.

The world changed when aliens, taking the form of God from the Bible, arrived on Earth and took twenty-four thousand people away with them. After they left, the believers left behind flocked to the countryside and took up simple, agrarian lives, while the high-tech cities walled themselves off and braced themselves for the aliens' inevitable return.

A hundred and sixty years have passed. While prejudice between Puritans and Citizens persists in the United States, peace has reigned for three generations. However, when doctors in Chicago discover exactly what the aliens were looking for on their last visit, President Worthia Amster knows that their time to prepare is over.

The Citizens have decided that they will no longer be subservient to the aliens, their crop to be farmed as they please. But is Earth truly ready to rebel against the EO-AY, especially when half the population supports them?

Release details

Preorders for Rebel Earth have been fulfilled and the book is now on sale through bookstores everywhere in trade paperback (232 pages, ISBN 978-1-928011-63-7, MSRP $19.99 CAD) and ebook (ISBN 978-1-928011-64-4, MSRP $4.99 CAD) formats.

The author and publisher will be hosting a livestreamed virtual launch party through Twitch Saturday, January 15th at 6:00 p.m. EST. The event will feature an interview of the author, reading, and Q&A with the audience through the Twitch chat. The launch party is open to the public and free to attend.

About the series

In the first book, Innocent Earth, a spacecraft appears in the sky over future Jerusalem with little warning to humanity of its approach. The figures that soon emerge appear like God and angels as described in the Bible, prompting religious fanatics and politicians both to seek the visitors’ favour. Arhus Gint, a translator working for the World Council, unexpectedly becomes a central figure as the visitors seem to favour his unambitious approach to communication. Over a course of weeks as people flock to Jerusalem to join the aliens – whether invited or not – Arhus watches schemes play out while the aliens, more concerned with their mission than with the welfare of humanity, prove time and again their unstoppable technological advantage over the people of Earth.

Divided Earth takes place a generation later largely in South Dakota, U.S.A., where Arhus’s son, Joseph Gint, works at a research lab on a military base. Over the course of years, a rift grows between those who believe the visitors were God and those who don’t, spearheaded by a zealous priest who sees worship of the aliens as a means of increasing his own power. Joseph’s assessment of the political situation in the country, along with his work on anti-alien weaponry and defences, land another Gint reluctantly in the sights of the country’s political leaders.

Innocent Earth is available in trade paperback (342 pages, ISBN 978-1-928011-21-7, MSRP $19.99 CAD) and ebook (ISBN 978-1-928011-22-4, MSRP $3.99 CAD) formats. Divided Earth is also available as a trade paperback (308 pages, ISBN 978-1-928011-37-8, MSRP $19.99 CAD) and ebook (ISBN 978-1-928011-38-5, MSRP $3.99 CAD)s. Innocent Earth is also available as an audiobook (unabridged, ISBN 978-1-928011-25-5, MSRP $19.99 CAD) and an audiobook of Divided Earth is in development.

About the Author

Dale E. McClenning was born in Illinois and lived most of his life in Indiana. He went to Ohio State for Mechanical Engineering and was an engineer for 33 years mostly doing industrial turbine engines (generator sets). He has a wife of 33 years, two boys, one daughter-in-law and one soon to be, and one granddaughter. He has been reading science fiction since grade school and writing since junior high. He has read a lot of history and theology as well as science fiction.

Milton, Ontario-based science fiction and fantasy publisher Brain Lag has published the complete Awakening Earth trilogy. Rebel Earth is Brain Lag’s 30th title and first series completion. McClenning first met Catherine Fitzsimmons, the owner of Brain Lag, during Gen Con in Indianapolis in 2017. Shortly after that, Fitzsimmons signed on Innocent Earth, which was the newest title on display the last time Brain Lag appeared at Gen Con in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s